Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-04-2004, 06:59 AM

Distinctions
VOM 
Cool Flawed Search for a Better Marine Rucksack

02-02-2004

Flawed Search for a Better Marine Rucksack

By Matthew Dodd

As a career Marine officer, I am very familiar with the myth and reality of the adage, ?Marines have been doing more with less for so long that they feel they can do anything with nothing forever.?

But that?s no excuse for failing to correct faulty equipment, as the following account of Marine Corps efforts to acquire an effective combat rucksack reveals.

We are on the verge of a major deployment of Marines to Iraq in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom II (OIF II). The Marine Corps Times on Dec. 15 published an article raising serious concerns that Marines may not be getting the best rucksack to replace the inferior pack that failed miserably in combat in Afghanistan. Given the inherent risks of this pending deployment to Iraq, and what is at stake in Iraq and the rest of the world based on the success of OIF II, now is not the time to test the validity that adage.

The Times article opened with:

?Compare the new rucksack you?re getting early next year to the maligned [Modular, Lightweight, Load-carrying Equipment] MOLLE pack that failed Marines in combat, and it sure looks like a winner. But in the rush to replace your ruck without breaking the bank, the Corps pushed aside a contender that fared better in testing and won the favor of fleet Marines.?

Anyone familiar with the military-designed MOLLE pack understands why the Corps needed a new pack. For starters, it was so complicated it required an instructional video to put it together! Then, in Afghanistan in 2001, some units experienced external frame breakage rates as high as fifteen percent. In the summer of 2002, the Corps decided the MOLLE pack had to go, and mandated a new replacement pack within a year.